Cloudy Water - how long - do you wait?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

konmanos

Aquarium Advice Regular
Guys, I have a new set-up (since 5-March 2014) of a sump tank - with Belem grass, and 4 x Ottos. After the tank was cycled - 31-Mar-14, I began the planting of Belem Hair Grass, and introduced the Ottos into the tank. I have a UV steriliser, Co2 inline and enough filter media in the sump to keep the junk out. However - my water is cloudy and not at all clear. I have been doing this for years - over 20 years, and I cannot remember such an issue. The tank is pearling, and all is well - however I cannot get the water clear at all. I am fertilising using ADA ferts, daily - and water changes weekly. The only change I saw - when I introduced, with a lot of hesitation - API Accu Clear. Cleared the water for 1 x day. I am at a loss - anyone with experience - as to when to make drastic changes - or - wait it out - how long? Soil is the ADA Power Sand and Aqua Soil. I know there has been a lot said about the cloudy water, but nothing seems to work for me.. Over to the experts and thanks in advance. I will post updates - to this issue - as things change to the tank. I do not have any external filtration canisters, it is all SUMP filtration.:ermm:

Attachments

• IMG_1427.jpg
    IMG_1427.jpg
    255.9 KB · Views: 148
Drop a bag of carbon or Purigen into your filter and it'll be clear the next day. Most mesh material isn't fine enough to remove the micro particles. Also, how often have you been running your uv?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Aquarium Advice mobile app

Thanks for the reply, I already have carbon in there, as well.. Been in there for a month.. The UV runs 8 hours per day, on the same timer as the co2.. I have looked into Purigen, and will be removing the Carbon and adding Purigen today .. Will keep you posted