CO2/ph/Kh

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Husmut

Aquarium Advice Regular
I read in another thread that, depending on what is present in your aquarium, (ie: natural buffers like rocks that leak calcium, which I have) the readings you get for ph and Kh may not give a true indication of CO2 levels. It was suggested that you remove a small amount of water and leave it out till the excess CO2 leaves the water and take a ph reading to note the difference between it and the tank.
My readings are Kh:4.5-5. Tank water ph is 7.5, removed water ph is 9.0!
What does this tell me about CO2 levels in my tank?

Your CO2 causes a significant (1.5) drop in PH. I'm no expert, but I would guess you have either enough or too much CO2.

When the CO2 charts are invalid, observation is the best measuring tool. How are your plants and fish doing?

Do you know why your natural PH (no CO2) is so high? This seems very odd.

I am pretty sure the ph is this high because of the smattering of 9mm white river stones (a product of india if this is relavent) I put in my tank a few months back. My tap water sits at 6.8 ph so this is the only thing I can think that has caused it. Fish and plants are fine. Ill do the test again cause I did not measure kh on the removed water.

Your CO2 causes a significant (1.5) drop in PH.
Not that significant. It's barely noticeable. Besides, not all of the CO2 will leave the water. Take sterile distilled water's pH in a CO2 free environment and you get 7.0, but in room air CO2 will go into the water slightly lowering the pH. No to mention the fact that biological activity is still taking place in the water removed from the tank which also can change the pH.