Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 09-29-2017, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Continue to have algae

My plants are growing, but algae continues to be a problem. Using excel, flourish, and ample lighting. Total newbie, getting frustrated.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	253.3 KB
ID:	304119  

Old 09-30-2017, 04:41 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Algae Problem

Quote:
Originally Posted by BASH2 View Post
My plants are growing, but algae continues to be a problem. Using excel, flourish, and ample lighting. Total newbie, getting frustrated.
Hello BASH...

Algae will thrive in high nutrient water. If your plants and fish aren't using all the food, then you have an ideal environment for a simple organism like algae. A little is a sign you're keeping a healthy tank. It's a good water filter and food supplement for your fish. A lot of algae means you're over feeding. Large, frequent water changes work best for controlling it and avoid fish foods that contain phosphate. By simply removing and replacing half or more of the tank water weekly, you'll significantly reduce algae growth and improve the general health of your tank.

B

Old 09-30-2017, 09:17 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator

Tank of the Month Award

Quote:
Originally Posted by BASH2 View Post

Please define ample lighting. What is the make/model of the fixture and duration of light period? What is the size of the tank and what is your normal water change schedule?
How often and how much Excel and Flourish is being added?
Old 10-06-2017, 04:46 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

use your lighting only 7 or 8 hours a day! Overuse of lighting might cause algae overgrowth.
Old 10-07-2017, 02:04 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Freak