Crypts and Vals

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

plantnoob

Aquarium Advice Freak
After a pleco disaster with my swords, I plan to move to a combination of crypts and Vals in my 70 gal tank. I was thinking about some crypto lutea and undulata plus Vallisneria Americana. I'm looking to hear about your experience with them especially in low tech tanks. I have no experience with them and everything I read about them says they are "easy" plants. Thoughts? Any do's and dont's? As always, appreciate your time and help!

Cheers.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I have not grown C. lutea but have grown C. undulata with wendtii green and red for a few years. They are slow growers. I used root pellets and no water column ferts or carbon. EcoComplete and dual T-5 normal output lighting. They will spread by sending runners.
Nice no maintenance plant for a low tech tank.

Fresh, great thanks. Mine is a similar setup. So time to do some mods to the layout and flora.

Get the hardscape situated well in advance (with the plants in mind).
Here is what my shrimp tank looked like with the crypts (and some stem plants and moss):
SHiizVm.png

I decided the breakdown the tank and harvested the crypts.

The crypts will melt when u first put them in but once they adjust (mine took 4 weeks) they should grow at a nice constant rate. Nice easy plant to grow

30g planted, 90g Oscar tank

Wow fresh, that's pretty lush growth. I hope to have that problem someday :)

Bert, thanks. That's good info - 4 weeks is a long time for someone who is super impatient, but at least I'll be mentally prepared!

Wow fresh, that's pretty lush growth. I hope to have that problem someday :)

Bert, thanks. That's good info - 4 weeks is a long time for someone who is super impatient, but at least I'll be mentally prepared!