cycling a planted tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Loren

Aquarium Advice Regular
I've got a 33g tank that I'm going to be starting up soon. I want to try a planted tank. I'm also going to try fishless cycling to get the tank going. Do I want to get my cycle going before I plant, after, or does it matter? I'm just starting my info gathering on planted tanks and haven't found any mention of this yet.

if you have enough plants, the PLANTS will cycle your water (i'm about to do the same thing)... they eat up nitritesand (i think) ammonia. put your plants and water into the tank and they should go to work. get more information, though, i'm still a beginner with planted tanks myself!

kaelen

Read my FAQ. A fishless cycle is for a fish tank and doesn't work that well for a planted tank.

mgkaelen is correct. The plants will use the ammonia before it gets a chance to harm the fish. But you MUST load up the tank with fast growing stem plants. Amazon swords and crypts are not what you want to use.

Or if you can get some Bio-Spira it works very well to cycle a tank.

Thank you both. That's a great article, Rex Grigg; lots of good info...I'll keep it handy.
So, if I'm understanding this properly, I should plant a tank first, and then
start adding fish a few at a time? The plants will take care of the waste products from the fish as long as the plants are well established, and I can use some bio spira to help?

Bio Spira will completely cycle your tank and you can add a whole bioload of fish at once, provided you follow directions. Other bacteria products will not work.

And when Rex says load your tank, a few sprigs of Water Sprite won't work. Add a lot of them, duckweed is also a good starter to get things going as it absorbs nutrients (ammonia etc...) really fast.