Dipping plants in peroxide.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tetra1990

Aquarium Advice Addict
I have read that doing this will destroy snail and snail eggs. I've never tried this before and I'm just asking if it's true. Today I'm planning on redoing my 10 gallon and messing with my 29. Do I just get a bottle of hydrogen peroxide and let the plants sit in it for 5 minutes or so, then rinse them off? Thanks.

I read to soak for 1 minute a couple of times with good rinsing in between & after. I used regular Hydrogen Peroxide from any store. All my plants did just fine :).

I have read that doing this will destroy snail and snail eggs. I've never tried this before and I'm just asking if it's true. Today I'm planning on redoing my 10 gallon and messing with my 29. Do I just get a bottle of hydrogen peroxide and let the plants sit in it for 5 minutes or so, then rinse them off? Thanks.

I don't think it does anything for snails, I believe peroxide dips are more for algae

So would I dilute it? Like what you do with bleach. But in this case it would be with water. To make a weaker solution.
Well I know you can buy various % of peroxide. I know its safe for humans to use 3% Peroxide. Not sure about fish, but that should be good:3

Well I know you can buy various % of peroxide. I know its safe for humans to use 3% Peroxide. Not sure about fish, but that should be good:3

I didnt know it came in various %. I know it's safe to use on dogs too. Whenever they get a cut, we rub it in the cut. I would dip the plants then rinse them off.

I didnt know it came in various %. I know it's safe to use on dogs too. Whenever they get a cut, we rub it in the cut. I would dip the plants then rinse them off.