Dry Fertz Help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LiQuiD

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I am finally ready to jump into the world of Dry ferts, and stop spending insane money on liquid ferts. Everyone says that dry ferts are the way to go, so Im hoping someone very knowledgeable on the subject, can point me in the right direction. I have always used Flourish Excel, Flourish, Seachem Iron, and Easy Green from Aquarium Co-Op along with Co2. I am setting up my 125gal very soon, and would like to use dry ferts moving forward.

1. Where is the best place to buy dry ferts?
  2. What exactly do I buy? (Im a total beginner that learns very fast)
  3. How often am I dosing?

I have a digital scale, and can weigh out the ferts and create mixing bottles. Im looking to make something like a micro and macro solution that I dose often, but I dont know what Im doing here.

Any and all help is greatly appreciated!! :thanks:

LiQ~

Welcome to the dark side!
Have you decided on doing PPS-Pro or Estimative Index? I like the former because it is a leaner mix and not dependent on 50% weekly water changes (nothing wrong with that).
Two sources come to mind: Green Leaf Aquariums (GLA) and NilocG Aquatics. I’ve used GLA so I can only comment on that one. GLA has a PPS-Pro kit. Comes with the dry ferts and mixing/dosing containers. The macros come with 4 separate baggies/vials of salts/powders. Just a suggestion: mix and dose the KNO3 (nitrates) separately because you may find that the inhabitant’s bioload may be contributing a sufficient amount of nitrates.
Your digital scale should be able to measure in grams. Allow the solution to sit overnight before dosing. Dosing is daily and 1 mL per 10 gallons.

I agree with fresh, I’ve used both pps and EI and I prefer pps pro, I have had much better results with pps pro.