Dual T5ho with 75 gallon tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Tobykourtney

Aquarium Advice Addict
Just upgraded from 55 to 75 gallon tank and was wondering if a aquatic life dual t5HO 48" would be enough to distribute light evenly in the 75 gallon. Sorry for the silly question but I'm still pretty new with lighting.

Just upgraded from 55 to 75 gallon tank and was wondering if a aquatic life dual t5HO 48" would be enough to distribute light evenly in the 75 gallon. Sorry for the silly question but I'm still pretty new with lighting.

Saltwater or freshwater?

You would definitely have more light directly under the fixture and less near the sides of the tank.

Sorry can't help out. I haven't even gotten my feet wet with planted yet. There are members that have a wealth of knowledge regarding planted tanks and lighting. I see you've met one already...

"Plants" is such a blanket term. Will any variety of plant be able to grow in the peripherals? Certainly. There are a large number of plants that will do fine in moderate amounts of light. Your more light hungry plants might benefit from a more central placement though.

Of course, the quality of the fixture you buy will have an impact, with better (ie more expensive) fixtures giving off more light overall. You can also get customized fixtures from some manufacturers with extra wide housing that spread the bulbs further apart, decreasing light centrally but evening it out over the tank. If you're injecting co2, you could also get more bulbs to evenly distribute.

Also, remember that it's easier to reduce light than it is to get more light.