Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-19-2005, 11:58 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 53
Eco Complete or Flora Max

I plan on using either of these substrates for my planted tank.
How deep should the bed be? I was think around 40# for my 24G Nanon Cube. I have used fluorite in the past, boy what a mess I remember that being.
__________________

__________________
dharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 12:11 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Aim for 3" average depth...usually a little deeper in back, shallower in front.

And eco complete is teh preferred substrate IMO.
__________________

__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 03:08 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Sunnyvale,California
Posts: 688
Send a message via AIM to azn_fishy55
3" I think is the best because it is not too shallow or too deep, and eco-complete is the way to go.
__________________
=] ~:Andrew:~ [=
azn_fishy55 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 08:15 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 53
Can I mix Eco-complete with regular black gravel from Kordon?
__________________
dharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-19-2005, 08:49 PM   #5
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
You can certainly mix it, but I would do it only if the cost of the plant substrate was prohibitively expensive for the tank size.

BTW, I use Fluorite almost exclusively because it is cheap locally and I don't have to pay shipping, and I do not have any problems with it being a mess. Once the initial cloud clears it does not cloud ever again, even when rearranging the tank, IME. If I could get EcoComplete plant substrate locally I'd use that, tho.
TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 01:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
and if you do mix, make sure at least 50% of it is eco complete...otherwise you dilute its nutrient retention properties, making it less effective. 100% is best IMO.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 02:30 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Perth. Western Australia
Posts: 274
Send a message via AIM to fastfly48 Send a message via MSN to fastfly48 Send a message via Yahoo to fastfly48
Quote:
Originally Posted by azn_fishy55
3" I think is the best because it is not too shallow or too deep, and eco-complete is the way to go.
Too deep? how does the depth of the substrate affect the plants? Surely a deep substrate couldn't hurt the plants? Needless to say I don't really understand this!
Sure...if it's too shallow than the roots don't have enough space/nutrients etc...etc...but too deep? Or am I reading in to this too much? or is it just a figure of speach/type.
confused.
Ry.
__________________
fastfly48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 09:17 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Chicago
Posts: 155
If you're looking to mix things up I added some regular "pebble" type substrate in patches to the bottom of my tank. Breaks up the plain black of the eco complete, makes things look a bit more dynamic along the bottom of the tank with beds of rocks between patches of eco complete/planted areas. Kind of off topic, haha....
__________________
Jason the Lost is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 10:27 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 398
I ordered 1 20lb bag of eco-complete for my 10 gal. It wasn't enough, so I added another 10 lbs of tahitian moon sand which I bought locally. Now I have 2.5 -3 inches. Looks very nice.
__________________
10 Gal Planted, 3 wpg, Eco-Complete and Tahitian Moon Sand

29 Gal Planted, 1.2 wpg, Estes Gravel
gfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 11:19 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,275
Send a message via MSN to sudz
I have 40 pounds eco complete, and 25 pounds of brown river rock. It looks very natural, and the plants are growing, even though its seriously under-lit.

Eco complete is probably THE best out there... IMO, anyway.

I have 3 inches in spots. maybe more. But usually its around 2. I textured it. little hills and valleys of about an inch fluctuation. 65 pounds for a 44 gallon tall is plent, I think. I am really pleased with the result. Check out my gallery, the latest picture.

Ttyl
__________________
Sudz
"In this hobby - Bad things happen over night... The good things take time."
In Progress: Rebuilding 75 Gallon Planted Discus tank
5 Gallon Guppy tank (Daughters tank)
sudz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 11:46 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nebraska, USA
Posts: 6,703
Its not that over 3" is bad for plant roots, its that its un-necessary. At an average $30 for 20lbs, it can be cost prohibitive at times...thus no need to exceed 3 inches.
__________________
Former advisor and planted tank geek...life's moved on though.
malkore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 12:24 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 398
FYI...I've posted this before, but here it is again. This is an e-mail response I got from customer service when I asked a few questions about Eco-Complete:

************************************************** *****Hi there. Thank you for your inquiries about our Eco-Complete. Yes, there may be some dust, that is normal. Your outside filter should clear that up pretty quickly. As lots vary, you may see some bags look a bit murky and some don't. It really does not have anything to do with anything critical like the bacteria. However, you do want to make sure that you are not seeing a lot of white rocks in the material. We had a batch go through with a calcium carbonate contaminant (causes increase in pH) a long time ago, but I'm not hearing much about it recently as most everything hass been recalled and replaced. Obviously if you suspect a problem we will replace it, but what you have so far sounds normal.

What is Eco-Complete? It is actually very cool stuff. If you look closely you will notice that most of the grains are round and porous. It is volcanic material, but not just the rock ground down, but the spray that comes out during the eruption. This is why is is mostly round, we don't grind or crush it down. It is therefore, very root and fish friendly becuase it does not have the sharp edges like gravel. We also mix in a bit of finer material to give it two distinct grades for optimium oxygenation to the roots. Eco Complete also contains live bacteria for not only a faster cycle time in the traditional sense, but it also converts fish waste to usuable plant nutrients faster, so the plants don't see the lag time you find with regular substrate set ups. Plsu, the material is geologically recent, so more trace elements like iron are available sooner and longer. There is a reason laterite is red, the iron is so locked up in the mineral that it harldy delivers iron at all. However, when you grind up the rock, it reads high in iron, but it simply can't get out. Eco-Complete is much more soluble for not only iron but other good stuff like potassium, calcium, and more

Anyway, to make a long story short, its good stuff. A well thought out "Complete" substrate that does a lot more than look pretty. I'm sure you'll like it.

Sincerely,

Betsey Moore
CaribSea
__________________
10 Gal Planted, 3 wpg, Eco-Complete and Tahitian Moon Sand

29 Gal Planted, 1.2 wpg, Estes Gravel
gfink is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2005, 12:35 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Reno, NV
Posts: 53
Thank you all for the information. I will be mixing one bag of Eco complete with one bag of black substrate from Kordon due to money issues, should bring me to a 3" depth. I will also be supplementing with fertilizers and such. My tank is a 24 gal deluxe Nano Cube. Is one bag of EC mixed with gravel enough nutrients from the substrate???
__________________

__________________
dharris is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
eco complete, flora

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Using Eco-Complete Fishkid Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 4 03-22-2009 07:46 PM
Need Help! Eco-Complete The_Wolfman Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 01-08-2009 11:52 PM
eco complete xander Midwest & the Dakotas 4 02-21-2008 11:07 PM
Eco-Complete? hc8719 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 11-25-2006 10:02 PM
Flora Max melissa1977 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 08-31-2006 11:50 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 02:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.