Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-27-2016, 07:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NW PA
Posts: 51
Filtration ? for planted tanks (no fish)

Going through this forum I'm amazed by the skill, beauty, and creativeness of these planted tanks many of you have.

For those of you doing planted only tanks what kind of filtration do you incorporate? How do you determine how much filtration you need? Do you still perform water changes or is that not necessary? Do you still have to cycle a plant only tank? OK i had a few ?'s.
__________________

__________________
JoeFreshnSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 03:39 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pmvaldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Wyoming USA
Posts: 84
for planted tanks, plants have been my main filters. Still need powerhead for gentle-medium current.

Yes water changes still required just not as often. Understock aquarium, have good lighting for 7-8 hrs a day.

Live plants will instantly eat up any ammonia nitrates. wont see much of a cycle. Nature via plants is much faster than bacteria based cycling.
__________________

__________________
pmvaldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 09:49 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,811
In a 20g long I've used an Aqua Clear 50. At one time I used two of them. Currently using a canister (at 13x turnover...a bit over kill). There is good water movement in the tank.
Water changes once a week. 30-40%. I don't vacuum the gravel. I add daily fertilizers.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 10:36 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,353
Joe...

If you're going with a plant only tank you still need good aeration and regular water changes. An air stone attached with plastic tubing to an air pump will keep the water moving for gas exchange and the regular water changes will replenish trace elements and maintain healthy oxygen levels for the plants.

Nitrogen isn't toxic to plants, so you don't need to cycle the tank. The plants will use all forms of nitrogen as a nutrient.

B
__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 11:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: NW PA
Posts: 51
Thank you for your info, right now I have a 75 gallon with 4 amazon swords. Will be adding more plants in January. I am interested in starting a plant only tank, right now just fishing for info.Click image for larger version

Name:	1482938549401.jpg
Views:	39
Size:	75.6 KB
ID:	292380
__________________
JoeFreshnSalt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 03:04 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
loubeardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England/ Hampshire
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmvaldon View Post
for planted tanks, plants have been my main filters. Still need powerhead for gentle-medium current.

Yes water changes still required just not as often. Understock aquarium, have good lighting for 7-8 hrs a day.

Live plants will instantly eat up any ammonia nitrates. wont see much of a cycle. Nature via plants is much faster than bacteria based cycling.
how heavily planted does a tank have to be for this to be a benefit?
__________________
loubeardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 06:18 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
pmvaldon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Wyoming USA
Posts: 84
depends on number of fish. a couple good healthy plants say 6-8" tall ones like water wisteria will be a huge impact on water quality.
__________________
pmvaldon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-28-2016, 06:29 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
loubeardy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: England/ Hampshire
Posts: 169
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmvaldon View Post
depends on number of fish. a couple good healthy plants say 6-8" tall ones like water wisteria will be a huge impact on water quality.
only have one betta and one shrimp... I'll be picking done of that you 😊 thanks
__________________

__________________
loubeardy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filtration, fish, plant, planted, planted tank, planted tanks, tan, tank, tanks

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My tanks. 125g cichlid, 75g tube, 40g and 20g planted tanks Magic mike Members Freshwater Tanks Showcase 18 10-22-2014 12:50 AM
filtration with planted tanks Annakhil Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 16 09-14-2012 11:33 AM
Planted Tanks vs Planted Aquascaping aqua_chem Aquaria Off-Topic 14 10-14-2011 03:27 AM
Need help with low-tech planted aquarium. (I'm new to planted Tanks). FishCrazyBenBOMB Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 17 11-25-2008 08:06 PM
Filtration issues, or lack-there-of filtration... penelope Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 9 03-02-2008 08:22 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.