Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-07-2014, 03:03 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Finally got up and running

Click image for larger version

Name:	ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1412708266.825038.jpg
Views:	58
Size:	223.3 KB
ID:	252167 hopefully picture attaches. 32 gallon cube (older current tank was free) 125w 6500k metal halide (was free except for bulb) homemade substrate. Got more in the plants and what little chemicals (conditioners etc) than anything else. Now to work on co2 and have a line on regulator (for free) as mine all busted from divorce move lol.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Snuffy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-07-2014, 08:33 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Thank you for all the information as I have been lurking on the bd taking notes as just about every question I had was all ready asked. Many months of research and slowly setting up. Now to get through my hands on learning curve again thank you and thanks in advance for what ever may arise.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Snuffy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 08:55 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
RadMax8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Cleveland, Ohio
Posts: 661
Tank looks really nice! What did you use to make the substrate?

Good on you for lurking on the forum before asking a million questions!


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
RadMax8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 09:11 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
I just used an organic potting soil with a small natural looking gravel was a lot easier than I thought it would be once get over black cloud shock lol it was oh boy what did I do? but cleared out fairly quickly. Im happy with the results so far


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Snuffy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-08-2014, 03:00 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Is the metal halide HID or HQI or Mogul based? Just curious. I use metal halides on my 220g, 3-150w HID bulbs over a 30" deep tank. Metal halides but out very high light especially over shallower tanks. How far away from the water surface is the light?

You can only run high to very high lighting for a shorter period of time or algae can become and issue. I ran mine 6 hours daily. Besides getting the CO2 hooked up you need to look into proper dosing of ferts via PPS-Pro or EI.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 02:26 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
It is a 20" tall tank, the light is a pendant light I measured it last night and have the light 8" over the water and the actual bulb is another 6" inside the light. Right now I have the timer set for 8hrs of on time and will probably cut that back. Currently using liquid carbon until I get co2 setup complete have all but few valves and gauge for my regulator and just need to get my tank filled (old kegerator kit lol got too dangerous to have in garage) buddy gonna give me his regulator since he not using it any more. So far all parameters are staying steady. I am doing every other week a 10% to 15% water change.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
Snuffy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2014, 02:28 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 13
Oh in that pic above the pendant light had dropped down I have reset up higher 8" and can go 2" more higher if need to.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Snuffy Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
fin

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I finally got my SaltWater Aquarium running!!! Dylan M. Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 05-24-2013 10:46 AM
FINALLY Got a New (60 Gallon Again) Tank Up & Running for my Goldies! Long Post... ArtesiaWells Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 63 04-07-2013 11:52 PM
Got my seahorse nano tank up and running finally! stratmaster Members Saltwater Tanks Showcase 9 11-10-2010 10:20 AM
finally up and running and here are some pics benni Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 4 10-08-2009 08:40 PM
Finally Up and Running NASCAR_Dave Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 3 01-26-2004 12:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:22 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.