Finding the k temp of a CF bulb

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JDogg

Aquarium Advice Addict
ok my new CF bulbs (u-shaped) give off a yellowish-green light :?

i thinking that this is not an ideal wavelength for plants...

do you think they will be ok?

2 20watt bulbs on a 10 gallon

is there a way to figure out the k #? it was not on the package...

being a science teacher i have some simple spectroscopes so i could determine the wavelengths that the light gives off... in manometers...

if i get this info could someone tell me it these will be good bulbs of if i wasted my money ordering them...:D

thanks

blue and red are what you are looking for. Those are around 450 and 700 nm.

EDIT: corrected the red nm.

rkilling1 said:
blue and red are what you are looking for. Those are around 450 and 700 nm.

EDIT: corrected the red nm.
so if i get blue and red wavelengths i will be ok, even if the dominant wavelengths are in the green-yellow range?

rkilling1 said:
thanks, these bulbs were not made with the intention of planted tanks in mind i am sure...
did email the company and asked if they could tell me the k temp fo the bulbs, they have not emailed me back though...

Since they are the model 2220, it's the same bulbs they had at Walmart, which I have 2 of. You should be ok. Can you take a pic of the tank with the lights on to kind of give an idea on how it looks? If it's the same as mine, they are ok.

I do not know how to determine color temp, but fwiw I use cheap screw-in CF all the time, and I am certain they are well below the recommended K range. With modest goals such bulbs work great.