First Planted Community Tank - 20g

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Michaelbknudsen

Aquarium Advice Activist
Noob - This is my first attempt at a planted tank, which is four months old about. I had a tank before, but a really simple set-up. This one is a 20g long, white sand substrate, topped with Argo-Alive. My buddy did this with his tanks with no ill effects, and had amazing tanks, otherwise I would have been to scared to use it. I am running a HOB filter as well as a UV filter. Lighting is 2x24" T5 HO lights. Can't recall temp, but I believe it's 1 daylight and 1 plant bulb. DIY CO2 running into diffuser intake on UV filter. House is kind of cold (60), so it's under 1 BPS. That works out, since there are no large water fluctuations at night when the plants aren't using it. Plants are plentiful, and I am looking to add HC in the foreground as cover. I'm hoping the lighting, and CO2 will be adequate for this... I will also use root tabs to kick off the HC. Thoughts? There are some zebra danios, pleco, dwarf guarmi, peppermint tetra, catfish, rcs, red crystal, black crystal, amanos and two fish I can't remember the name of. Probably should test the water to get an idea of where It's at. I'll be posting pics along the way as I add the HC, and plants begin to fill out. I'll also probably be blacking out the backdrop to make the whole thing pop. Thanks for sharing, feedback and tips.

Attachments

• image-1007637772.jpg
    image-1007637772.jpg
    144.6 KB · Views: 164
  • image-2433657132.jpg
    image-2433657132.jpg
    112.8 KB · Views: 160
  • image-4192630419.jpg
    image-4192630419.jpg
    121.9 KB · Views: 168
Just added 10 RCS into the mix, and dosed with Seachem comprehensive and excel... HC coming tomorrow to put in the foreground.