First Planted Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sliderfish

Aquarium Advice Addict
OK so I'm not new to fish keeping by any means, but I am new to plants, aquatic ones at least. I have decided to turn my 29 gallon tank into a GBR planted tank. I will have a pair of GBR and a school of others, probably black neon tetras although I'm still a ways from deciding on them.

I currently have white play sand as substrate.

My questions are about the plants I should look into. I want some taller, wavy plants for the back sides and some shorter, grasslike plants for the front of the tank. In the middle I'd like some mid sized broader leaved plants. I like the looks of anacharis for the taller plants, but I have no idea what plants will work for the others. I would like to stay at the "beginner" level and don't want to go beyond a possible light change as far as adding to the tank. The bulb I have now was to used as a plant light (bought it from a guy who had it planted before) so if I don't have to change that either I'd be happy.

Any other useful information, such as how fish stocking levels affect plants or how densely they should be planted would be great! Feel free to enlighten me with your wisdom and experience! :D

What kind of light bulbs do you have?
Assuming you have a low-medium light source, some good background plants would be Amazon swords, watersprite and anacharis because they grow REALLY tall if left unchecked. Well...Amazon swords are naturally tall anyway lol.

Cryptocoryne, Anubias and Java ferns are good midground plants as they dont grow too tall (around a few inches).