First time CO2

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sinibotia

Aquarium Advice Addict
Thanks to a member generously offering their regulator for a very good price I think I want to try CO2, but I have never done this before.

The regulator is an aquatek mini. I'm planning on using paintball CO2 canisters. I know I need a drop checker and some kind of diffuser. Do I need anything else?

The tank is a 55 gallon with a Beamswork Razor LED estimated at about 40 par at substrate level. Plants are currently a lot of jungle vals and some bacopa and a dwarf chain sword. I plan on adding some other plants, probably some amazon swords in particular and some sort of carpet plant. The tank has root tabs and is fertilized with Seachem Flourish and API Leaf Zone.

My tap water is very soft- around KH of 3. So do I need to buffer the water to be able to add an appropriate amount of CO2?

I have this regulator and it's been working great for me. Have it hooked up on a 20 oz. Co2 tank, doing great and this is going to last me a while. I would get it, it's a really good regulator. I suggest investing in Co2 proof tubing, it will save a lot of Co2 from escaping the normal air line tubing. The aquatek diffuser is really good, I like it a lot. Seems to be doing it's job. Takes a few days of running it to really get soaked through and producing micro bubbles, but once it does it makes a very fine mist.

OK thanks! So what exactly is built into this regulator? From what I can tell it actually includes a needle valve and a bubble counter?

OK thanks! So what exactly is built into this regulator? From what I can tell it actually includes a needle valve and a bubble counter?