Fish only to planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SwimsWithFish

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hello all!!! I've seen many photos of planted tanks and I think there downright amazing. But I have no knowledge what so ever about planted tanks. If anyone has any links or tips to help me convert my ten gallon tropical into a planted beauty it would be much appreciated.

There's really no major secret to keeping live plants .... see the link below to get you started. You have to start with the light, your 10gal probably came with a stock hood so with that current lighting, your looking at low light plants to start with. Generally you want bulbs that have a color temperature around 6500K and a WPG around 1-2.

Some good choices are Java Fern, Anubias and Crypt Wendtii. All three can grow in very low light requiring very little maintenance. If you upgrade to brighter / higher output bulbs, you could go with higher light plants, but your also looking more maintenance like dosing CO2 as well as liquid nutrients.

The links below can get you started and I'm sure others will join with more tips.

PlantGeek.net - Plant Guide.

PAR vs Distance, T5, T12, PC - Updated Again Charts

Good Luck!

I am no expert by any means, but I was like you and very shy to start with live plants. Good plants to start out with even with normal aquarium lights are java fern and anubias.. I haven't seen much growth from the anubias, but the java fern has definitely taken off.
Check out the links above and do your research.. It's not nearly as scary as it might seem, but I have a lot of learning to do as well... Good luck to you! And keep us posted!

Here what you need to do, before adding plants. You need Co2, fertilizer balance, and lights . Make sure you have this before you start anything.

They equipment will vary depending on you plants needs.