Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-03-2018, 12:54 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,683
Fish with a rescape?

What does everybody do with their fish when they rescape? I am going to redo mine but the terror I feel as I contemplate moving plants that are well rooted in a dirted substrate is giving me the willies.
__________________

__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 02:40 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,950
Depends on what is being done. I try to catch the fish and place them in a bucket if possible. But that does not always happen.
For a dirted tank, I would remove the fish.Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1195.jpg
Views:	36
Size:	205.8 KB
ID:	305942
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 03:19 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flitabout's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Pipestone, Minnesota
Posts: 1,683
The otos should be fun maybe I will wait until this spring/summer. Plus it will give me more time to get the pieces I want to add.
__________________
flitabout is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 04:17 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Bert2oo1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 2,456
Quote:
Originally Posted by flitabout View Post
The otos should be fun maybe I will wait until this spring/summer. Plus it will give me more time to get the pieces I want to add.


If your fully stripping it Iíd almost replace the substrate to be honest. I rescaped mine a few months back and pulled all the plants and syphoned all the dirt out that came through the top layer. I had to cut a lot of them off and bury the base under the substrate due to the large root systems. Now Iíve got crypts popping back up all over the place where I pulled them out lol
__________________
Bert2oo1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2018, 06:53 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Posts: 93
we just left our fish in when we rescaped our tank but or plants wernt rooted in the gravel
__________________
fishkeeper90 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
cap, fish

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New fish and rescape Ckennedy37 Cichlid Discussion 3 05-21-2013 05:47 PM
125g rescape 875mill Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 01-06-2009 12:44 AM
minor rescape of 10 gallon Sahabo Show Off/Photography 0 12-07-2008 08:02 PM
Rescape plan for the 55 gal happygirl65 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 02-01-2008 04:52 PM
2 gallon rescape newfound77951 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 7 10-30-2006 10:01 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:24 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.