Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-14-2012, 07:06 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vance1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1,319
flourite

I plan using flourite to set up my 5g tank do i need yo rinse it first? And any other advice would be great
__________________

__________________
Fish addict Forever! or FaF for short.
vance1013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:14 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Yep! You should indeed wash it. It's gonna be cloudy when you set it up regardless
__________________

__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:21 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vance1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predfan27
Yep! You should indeed wash it. It's gonna be cloudy when you set it up regardless
Ok thank you any other advise on this substrate
__________________
Fish addict Forever! or FaF for short.
vance1013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by vance1013

Ok thank you any other advise on this substrate
Ummmm nope!

Water changes until the water clears up. Other than that. Plant your plants and they will love it! A great plant dedicated substrate. Good luck!
__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2012, 07:24 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vance1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predfan27

Ummmm nope!

Water changes until the water clears up. Other than that. Plant your plants and they will love it! A great plant dedicated substrate. Good luck!
Ok lol thank you
__________________
Fish addict Forever! or FaF for short.
vance1013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:02 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ljk09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western, KY
Posts: 223
On another thread I read you still need to dose the aquarium with a fertilizer. The substrate doesn't give that evidently.
__________________
Ljk09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:03 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vance1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljk09
On another thread I read you still need to dose the aquarium with a fertilizer. The substrate doesn't give that evidently.
Ok thank you ill look into that
__________________
Fish addict Forever! or FaF for short.
vance1013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:04 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ljk09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western, KY
Posts: 223
Quote:
Originally Posted by vance1013

Ok thank you ill look into that
You're welcome the only reason I know that (well, took someone else's expertise) is because I'm using it as a cap in dirt tank
__________________
Ljk09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:08 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
vance1013's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Washington USA
Posts: 1,319
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ljk09

You're welcome the only reason I know that (well, took someone else's expertise) is because I'm using it as a cap in dirt tank
Ah ok makes sense lol ive read it has a high cec which helps absorb nutrients from the waste
__________________
Fish addict Forever! or FaF for short.
vance1013 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-15-2012, 01:13 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Ljk09's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Western, KY
Posts: 223
Yes. It doesn't have fertilizers. At least that's what I was told.
__________________

__________________
Ljk09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
flourite

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.