Getting Started on Planted Tanks - please help

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Thaiboxer

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hi everyone!

(FYI - I read all the Planted Tank sticky messages, so I'm asking questions based on some of the knowledge in those)

I am a newbie to planted tanks, but have been managing aquariums for several years. I have the advantage of understanding how to cycle a tank, stock it, and basic care and water changes. For the last two years I've been running a very stable 125 gallon tank that's loaded with South American cichlids. Big ones. I've actually had really good luck with my tank until the last year or so but have recently decided to break it down completely and build a planted tank from the ground up. Here's my story (followed by a patient plea for advice from the gurus):

Background:
As you can see above, I have a 125 gallon tank with quite a few cichlids (2 oscars, a Jack Dempsey, a Red Terror, 2 monster plecos, 2 red parrots, and one or two others). The fish are pretty happy and get along okay. My #1 problem is algae. Black fuzzy stuff that's nearly impossible to get rid of.

I've done a lot of research in an effort to track down the source of said algae, and isolated it this weekend. My aquarium water is very healthy - Ammonia, Nitrites, Nitrates and Phosphates are all very tolerable. However, my tap water has HUGE amounts of ammonia and nitrites! So basically, every time I change my water I'm hurting my fish. How messed up is that?

Solution #1 - I'm buying an RO setup and will for evermore use that as my water source.