Growing? Dying? Adjusting?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

librarygirl

Look It Up
Hi,

I'm very new to live plants so I'm not sure what it is I'm seeing and thought I'd ask.

I have a low-light, low-tech setup: 29 gal tall freshwater, using the standard florescent light (T8 bulb, only 17 watt, 8000k) that is on about 9-10 hours per day (on a timer: 4-4.5 hours on, 4 off, 5-6 on, off overnight). My nitrates only get to about 5 between water changes (change 6-8 gals twice per week). I do add about a 1/4 cap of Flourish with each water change. I tried the T5 lights but I have light issues with my eyes and I kept getting headaches with the T5 lights so had to revert back to the standard florescent. No CO2 and I don't want to use it.

I have low-light plants: Anubias Bartieri, Anubias Congensis, Anachris, Java Moss, Java Fern and Hornwort.

The Bartieri and Congensis have been in the tank for at least a month now and they seem to be doing fine. The Congensis has some reddish brown growth on the stems but not sure if it was that way when I got it and not sure whether it's normal (pic below); the leaves themselves look fine (they are a darker green than in the picture and look healthy).

The Java Fern seems like it's doing well too; only one leaf is brown; other leaves were brown before and I did some trimming but now most of the leaves are green and they might even be growing (pic below just to double-check).