Hair Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Cheadle Chick

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi Everyone!

Ok so I'm a complete aquarium rookie but I'm doing my best. Anyhow I was just wondering what I could do to get rid of a really bad infestation of hair algae? it's all over my plants and rocks, it's just disgusting. I actually went in last weekend and "harvested" what I could but it seems to be coming back. I also got some of those fish that are supposed to eat the algae (flying foxes?). Will they be enough?

Any and all suggestions would be appreciated.

WELCOME TO AA!

well.. hate to break you the news but flying foxes don't really eat algae all that well. How much lighting do you have in your tank.

From the Plants Neet Help Sticky:

~Plant(s) affected?
~Tank size/volume?
~Lighting/wpg?
~Do you inject CO2? If so do you know the level?
~What do pH, KH, PO4, NH3 and/or NO3 test kits say?
~Dosing? What/how much/how often?
~Heavily, moderately, or lightly planted?
~Fish stock?
~Tank Location (near windows - in direct sunlight)?
~How long has tank been set up?

Answering these questions will greatly help in figuring out how to get rid of your algae problem.

The plants that seem to be most affected is the mondo grass.
My tank size is 10gallon (plan to move to a 20 gallon once I finish moving)
I don't know exactly what kind of lights mine are but they were fairly expensive and specially made for plants (full spectrum lights).
I don't inject CO2 but perhaps I should? I was considering it.
Also I know I'm bad but I don't monitor levels in my tank or do any dosing (I have no idea about it actually, but I"m willing to learn). Although I do add a plant fertilizer to the water (it's liquid and supply's mostly iron, but I can't remember the name).
I would say my tank is moderately planted.