Hardscape for Forest Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fearlessfisch

Aquarium Advice FINatic
This is a trial run at a hardscape for a 29-gallon, forest-themed, planted tank. It's my first try at a hardscape, and I am pretty sure I'll end up revising it. I welcome any ideas, corrections, or suggestions anyone has.

It's made with play sand, branches found by the Potomac River and then baked in the oven, and rocks found by the river and boiled. I probably need to test the rocks for metal content, though, before adding fish. Can anyone tell me which tests would be most important?

I ordered a variety of low-light plants from Goatnad and am excited to see if I can get any of them to grow in a low-tech environment. I have a VivaGrow lamp which gives a lot of flexibility with regard to light levels. I can use Flourish if that sounds like a good choice? I'd like to find some moss to use as tree foliage and possibly ground cover. I have a second tank cycling, too, which will get any plants that don't seem the right scale or type fot this tank.

Thanks for this place to show off and ask questions. I love this hobby but have never ventured into the planted tanks before.

3422-albums14770-picture72041.jpg

3422-albums14770-picture72043.jpg

That's a pretty cool idea. Are you going to use Christmas moss or Java moss for the tree's?

I really like this. I like the back lighting. I wish I would have seen this before I sent your plants. I would have sent you some peacock and Thai moss to try out in the trees :(

May not be a popular opinion, but I can dig the simplicity of the tank’s current state. A scattering of mini Indian Almond leaves would complete the look. But that’s not the direction you are going with (Planted).

That's a pretty cool idea. Are you going to use Christmas moss or Java moss for the tree's?