Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-02-2017, 05:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Shoots2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 181
Have anyone tried minirilized soil

Anyone have minirilized soil experience,,,
Thanks in advance.
__________________

__________________
Shoots2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:00 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoots2002 View Post
Anyone have minirilized soil experience,,,
Thanks in advance.

I've used mineralised and non mineralised. There is no better substrate than top soil in my opinion if you are prepared to accept the mess that comes with using it.
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:02 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Shoots2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 181
Actually i prepared it and the tank is cycling now but the water is a little brown and I didn't even add driftwood yet
__________________
Shoots2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:06 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoots2002 View Post
Actually i prepared it and the tank is cycling now but the water is a little brown and I didn't even add driftwood yet

That's because the soil is releasing tannins or tannic acids. With frequent water changes it will disappear eventually or you could add some activated charcoal to you filter and it will/should disappear overnight. The charcoal needs replacing when the effect wears out but the soil may have naturally stopped leaching by then anyway.

Tannins are not harmful in any way.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:13 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Shoots2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 181
Ya i will but i think i have to remove the charcoal when the tank is cycled coz i think that charcoal will absorb the nutrients from the water.. then i will put it until the water is clear then remove it and begin planting it.... thanks for ur reply
__________________
Shoots2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:14 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shoots2002 View Post
Ya i will but i think i have to remove the charcoal when the tank is cycled coz i think that charcoal will absorb the nutrients from the water.. then i will put it until the water is clear then remove it and begin planting it.... thanks for ur reply

That's fine but charcoal won't remove nutrients from the water. Take it out when it's done it's job though by all means.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 06:36 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Shoots2002's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 181
Ok thanks man
__________________
Shoots2002 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 07:25 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
That's fine but charcoal won't remove nutrients from the water. Take it out when it's done it's job though by all means.
Do you use gac 24/7?
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 10:20 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
Do you use gac 24/7?


No. Once the water clears I found it was crystal without it.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 10:22 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
No. Once the water clears I found it was crystal without it.
Gotcha. Was curious. My current tank ive gone without.
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:28 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
Gotcha. Was curious. My current tank ive gone without.

Are you using soil then?
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:33 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
I did not wish I would have. I hate eco complete. Substrate was hardest decision for me. I wish I had done soil with bdbs cap.

In my 40 im building I will
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:41 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
I did not wish I would have. I hate eco complete. Substrate was hardest decision for me. I wish I had done soil with bdbs cap.

In my 40 im building I will

I'm using eco complete at the moment. It's alright. Soil is pretty awesome though. I never really had to worry about micro nutrient deficiencies. Having said that. Root development is doing well with eco complete too.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:43 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Dallascowboys16's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Highlands Ranch, Co
Posts: 1,886
I used aqua forest soil by Fox Farm and it worked out pretty well. The crypts and swords definitely enjoyed the benefits for about a year, but after that it was petty well spent and I was left with a messy substrate that no longer offered nutrient value. I had to recently replace my 55 because the middle brace broke and I used new bags of eco complete and scrapped the old substrate. So in conclusion, I found it to be beneficial to plant life for about a year, but after that it was pretty much useless I think. It is also definitely a messy substrate so you have to be prepared for that. I don't care how much gravel or sand you cap it with it will eventually make its way up.
__________________
55 gallon Planted Tank - 10 gallon Reef - 5.5 Pea Puffer
2015 AA Fantasy Football Champion
Dallascowboys16 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:44 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
I'm using eco complete at the moment. It's alright. Soil is pretty awesome though. I never really had to worry about micro nutrient deficiencies. Having said that. Root development is doing well with eco complete too.
I have trouble planting stems and helferi in it. Any tips?
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:50 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,650
Quote:
Originally Posted by flchamp89 View Post
I have trouble planting stems and helferi in it. Any tips?

For eco complete. Stems you just gotta leave a nice long stem enough to push right down with a pair of long tweezers. Then fill in the hole with more eco complete. Soil is the easiest substrate I've planted in.
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 01:52 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Caliban07 View Post
For eco complete. Stems you just gotta leave a nice long stem enough to push right down with a pair of long tweezers. Then fill in the hole with more eco complete. Soil is the easiest substrate I've planted in.
That what im doing with stems. So much easier in sand. But I destroy helferi cuttings. Im just letting it spread on it own. If I was super motivated id glue some to lava rock. Might try one day.
__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 03:27 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
I tend to bury the helferi a bit more than I should. Otherwise, with no roots, they readily become dislodged. No problems so far.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-02-2017, 03:29 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
flchamp89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Posts: 2,387
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
I tend to bury the helferi a bit more than I should. Otherwise, with no roots, they readily become dislodged. No problems so far.
I guess I need more experience or patience or both lol
__________________

__________________
flchamp89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
mini, oil

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Anyone Use ADS Aqua Soil? LindaC Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 12 08-05-2006 10:36 AM
I tried this and it worked. Has anybody else tried it? briandh76 Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 7 04-01-2005 11:50 PM
Anyone tried the "bullet proof reef"? Enki Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 8 02-04-2004 03:16 PM
Filter-Aid, AmQuel+, Net cleaner -- anyone tried it? BettaLisa Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 10-29-2003 06:02 PM
anyone every tried pond block in aquarium for green algae cajunbaby75 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 07-28-2003 09:39 PM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:03 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.