Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 02-14-2017, 07:22 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak

HC dry start advice

Hi guys, this is my first attempt at a dry start

I can't really find anything on how much water/moisture is required to keep it healthy.

Some people on Google say flood it, ADA say spray it and cover with plastic.

Currently I've added no water but I haze it in water 3 times a day. I feel like most of it escapes after a while through the bit of plastic I leave open.

Notes: I include a small amount of metricide while hazing to avoid fungus and algae.

I have about 9 hours of light exposure per day.

Click image for larger version

Name:	1487118125717.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	189.2 KB
ID:	294951

Old 02-14-2017, 07:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Florio View Post
Hi guys, this is my first attempt at a dry start

I can't really find anything on how much water/moisture is required to keep it healthy.

Some people on Google say flood it, ADA say spray it and cover with plastic.

Currently I've added no water but I haze it in water 3 times a day. I feel like most of it escapes after a while through the bit of plastic I leave open.

Notes: I include a small amount of metricide while hazing to avoid fungus and algae.

I have about 9 hours of light exposure per day.

Attachment 294951

I've done this in a 3G cube just recently. I filled the water up to just below the substrate surface (basically under the top layer of substrate.) you want to make sure you don't have any puddles tho. Once the water gets abit high then suck it out.

I left one corner open with the plastic to avoid mold.