Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-02-2006, 01:14 PM   #11
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Quote:
I am a little concerned as my tank is only 14.5" tall. Would this be a little too intense for the fish, and is it really necessary as there isn't much water for the light to penetrate through?
The fish will be fine. There are people that have more light than that on their tanks. You could have a few floating plants if you are worried about the fish.

The issue with your tank is that its hard to get exactly the amount of light you need for the plants you want to keep. The plants you listed above are mostly high light plants and the smaller the tank you have, the more light you'll need. If you keep the actinic bulb in this fixture, it really cuts down on the watts. So you won't be able to grow the plants you would like to. It seems to me that you really need to get what you can because it doesn't look like 36 inch fixtures in the watt range you need are abundantly available in the UK. A 96 watt fixture will give you about 3.56 watts per gallon (using US gallons) which is the low end of high light, since the tank is only 27 US gallons. You should be able to grow the plants you want. You'll probably need to inject CO2 too with that light, but lets worry about that later. I wouldn't worry about the fish...they will be fine.
__________________

__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:23 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Ok thanks for that justonemore, that's really helpfull

I will be adding CO2 but yes that will come a little later.

Also i understand i need a glass cover... does this have to be any specific glass?
Also it would help if it's cat-proof I have a kitten that is very, very much interested in water. The fish interest is natural but she loves running water, a tank of water and well...all things water! Hopefully she won't fit in the gap between light and tank.

I have a glass ledge that runs around the top of the tank (mentioned on first post) it fits a condensation tray so would i use this for a glass cover also? (the pic... http://img171.imageshack.us/my.php?i...sc09866gf1.jpg )

Thanks again It's greatly appriciated.
__________________

__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 01:59 PM   #13
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
Quote:
so would i use this for a glass cover also?
You could sit a glass top on that I think. From the picture it looks like the ledge is maybe 1/2 an inch down from the top of the tank. All my tanks have a plastic rim around the top of the glass that a top just fits nicely on. I think it would be fine to get a glass top and set it on the ledge.

Here in the US we can buy already cut glass tops like this one. Its hard for me to suggest things for you since you are not in the US. I think there are a few UK plant people on here...I wish they'd offer some suggestions.

That glass top is great because you can flip up the front of it for feeding. You can always go get a piece of glass cut to fit your tank, but it won't flip, meaning you'd have to move it out of the way when you feed the fish.

Maybe some of the UK folks will speak up and offer suggestions to you on where (and if) you can get a glass top like the one I linked to.

Sorry I can't help ya more!

Quote:
have a kitten that is very, very much interested in water. The fish interest is natural but she loves running water, a tank of water
That is very interesting. I don't think I've ever met a cat that likes water. Most hate it. I have a very vivid memory of helping my grandmother give her cat a bath when it was a kitten....we got scratched many many times...(I have no idea why we tried to bathe the cat) 8O
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:21 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rkilling1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: NE ohio
Posts: 2,245
Send a message via AIM to rkilling1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Satsumas
I will be adding CO2 but yes that will come a little later.
You simply cannot add a lot of light and not CO2 and fertilizers and expect everything to be alright. You are not the first one to believe this.

please read thru the 'Resources and References' Sticky at the top of the forum, if you have not done so already. some very good information is contained in there.

By doing so, you are in for a very bad experience. A ride that has driven some away from the planted hobby for good. High light, no CO2, No ferts, = ALGAE and lots of it. I can list many threads on here that people have had this happen to, so please take this advise. don't just throw some lighting on you tank and just think about the othet stuff.

IMO, I would leave the 50/50 bulb installed until you can get the other parts of high light planted tank inplace.

HTH.
__________________
rkilling1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:37 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
@JustOneMore20: I was thinking about the glass top just being a pane of glass which would be annoying as it wouldn't open up for feeding and the quick hand in tank maintenance. Hopefully there will be one like that dr foster & smith one available to me on e-bay, i'll have a look. That does look really good i have to say, once again just what i'm after!

Yes, young millie is rather strange, when the tank was half full she was balancing on the ledge, leaning over with her paws in the water. She sniff's it and has the occasional drink! ergh! Thanks again JustOneMore,

@ rkilling1: I understand that plants require CO2 and i have read that you will get an algae outburst if none is present. I have DIY CO2 in my other tank and it's only a matter of time before i get my hands on the next empty plastic bottle. I meant the CO2 would come after i have re-sealed the top corner, sorted out the substrate (not sure if i have enough yet) and got the cycling process going. So it'll be in a week or 2

I plan to buy some 'weeds' or at least plants that grow like weeds first. So they take up all the nutrients needed for algae to grow, then i take some out when i buy the specific plant's i want, is this correct? Thanks
__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 04:41 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
If you plant enough weeds and get your CO2 going, no need to cycle at all. Put a little filter media and gravel in from the other tank, add a lot of fast growing stems and stock the tank slowly. No cycle, animals from the start and you should be able to avoid some algae and GW problems.

just my thoughts.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-02-2006, 05:35 PM   #17
Algae Fighter
 
JustOneMore20's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Birmingham, AL
Posts: 3,872
Send a message via MSN to JustOneMore20
I agree with rich...after my first tank, I haven't cycled a tank yet...just do it ^ that way.

Two tank brands, All-Glass and Perfecto, make the glass tops like that. So maybe if you search for the brands you will find some on Ebay. I don't know if All-Glass and Perfectos are sold in the UK...perhaps they are. They come in different lengths...of course they are to fit their tanks, but maybe the 36 inch one will fit your tank, if you can find one.
__________________
~Kristin~
2 planted tanks: 40g, 20g ; 38g Reef tank
My links to pics: 40g breeder planted build, 40g breeder planted update, My 38g Reef Build

JustOneMore20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 05:11 AM   #18
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
Oh right, I didn't know that. I use sand in my other tank so i can't really move that across, i think i'll put a rock or two in my established tank then move it over when the tank is ready.

Fast growing stem plants, do they have to be specifically stem plants? so vallis and cabomba are no no's?

I have found a glass cover which seems ok, tell me what you think? there's no picture which is annoying as i would like to see what i'm buying!... http://www.aquatics-online.co.uk/cat....asp#product76
__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 09:24 AM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
rich311k's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 12,189
Send a message via Yahoo to rich311k
The vallis and cabomba will be fine. Get wisteria and anacharis too if you can. Plant a lot of it. I understand not wanting to mix the sand in the new substrate. Just fill up a stocking with it and put that in the new tank you can remove it when you are ready too. The most important thing is some filter media, lots of plants and only a few fish too start.
__________________
From where the sun now stands, I will fight no more forever.
rich311k is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-03-2006, 11:16 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cambridge, England (UK)
Posts: 610
My brother has some wisteria, so i may be allowed to borrow some! I've found a pretty good plant website which has a lot of stock so i'm sure i will be able to get some anacharis aswell.

Are there any other plants that i should put in first? what about hygro polysperma?

That sounds like a good way of using some sand, i'll give it a go.
Thanks.
__________________

__________________
20Gal Planted, Fluval 205 filtration.
3 Black Neons, 1 Zebra Danio, 1 Clown Pleco, 3 Yo-yo Loaches.
Tank Established: Nov 04'
Satsumas is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
hood, light, lighting

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
54g corner lid & hood middlechild Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 1 04-12-2009 10:28 PM
hood/lighting kcoatney Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 05-10-2006 09:53 PM
My Old Lighting Hood Rxblade123 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 01-01-2006 10:32 PM
Lighting hood ? tmcpeek Saltwater Reef Aquaria 5 11-29-2004 01:15 PM
30 Gallon w/ stand+Skimmer+glass hood, light & etc. for gzejer Midwest & the Dakotas 4 03-31-2004 10:13 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.