Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 05-18-2008, 02:52 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

How did you learn?

Hi. I'm new to planted tanks, and I've been pretty overwhelmed with all the information out there: CO2 regulators, mixing dry ferts, balancing nutrient levels, etc. It seems like many people in this forum have a great deal of knowledge, so my question is: how did you learn? Was a lot of it trial and error?

I recently purchased Encyclopedia of Aquarium Plants by Peter Hiscock. It's a great beginner book and I learned a lot. I'm also reading the articles in this forum. Any other suggestions for good books/websites?

Thanks!

Old 05-18-2008, 04:26 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus

I learned the bulk of my knowledge through this forum and it's very knowledgeable and helpful members (and a certain degree a couple of other forums) as well as some sites by other hobbiests. I highly recommend checking out the articles on this forum (there's a link at the top of the page or there are direct links through the read this first sticky) as well as Steve Hampton's and Rex Grigg's sites. GWAPA also has some great articles.

After reading up and asking questions, it really was a matter of applying what I'd learned to the aquariums so that it would actually start to make sense. Going from learning about dosing and what plants need, to actually having a feel for it just by looking at what algae are present and the health of the plants.