How to get started with plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Ellenquacker72

Aquarium Advice Freak
I I just got a 10g tank that is in the process of fishless cycling. I was thinking of making it a planted tank. This is s really new idea to me, and have a lot of questions. My tank only has two 15w white bulbs, is 12 inches deep, and I only have plastic gravel ( I didnt think I was doing plants originally, so I got the pathetic stuff... Sorry). Is my tank compatible for plants as is? I cant get bulbs any stronger, the fixture would melt. I'm going to need fertilizer though right? And what about co2? I am currently interested in getting moneywort, java fern, and wisteria. I also like water sprite, but I haven't found a store that sells it yet.

What do you mean? They're just 15w (120v) clear aquarium light bulbs... Like I said im a newbie.

Swap them for some screw in CFL bulbs in the daylight spectrum and you'll be off to a good start. A good nutrient rich substrate is always good, but not really required. Stick with some easy to grow plants like ferns, java moss, anubias, etc, till you get more comfortable with it.

Can someone explain the whole, lightbulb thing? What's the difference between mine and the clf ones? Are they both compatible in the same fixture? Would the plants not grow with these bulbs? I'm so confused... Because if they don't, then I guess I'm not getting plants.

Yours are incandescent bulbs, they have next to zero benefit for plants, if you get CFL's (compact florescent lightbulbs) in the 10w-15w range and they say daylight or have the number 6500K (around there) on the packaging, your plants will grow much better. You can find them at Walmart, Target, HD and Lowe's (to name a few).

Here's a great website for plant info/pics: PlantGeek.net - Your Aquatic Plant Resource