How to set up a CO2 system

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mudraker

Aquarium Advice Addict
I’ve seen several posts lately asking questions on regulated CO2 systems. A lot of people (myself included) seem a little overwhelmed or intimidated by the set up process. I am posting photos the hook up I did last night. Mine is a Milwaukee MA957, with a built in solenoid and bubble counter, but the general consensus is that the assembly is basically the same. More than anything, I hope to show the timid among us that it is actually a very simple process. I also disliked the instructions on the box. They are printed on the opposite side of the parts diagram. You have to keep turning the box around to figure out what they are referring to.

This is my first time doing this.

It was 100% easier to put together and start than any of the numerous DIY systems I’ve made.

My CO2 cylander is a 20 gallon size (long story) and so I have to lay it on its side to hide it under the tank, so the bubble counter was taken off and rethreaded into the solenoid to stand upright, so it may look a little different than other setups, but the assembly process will be exactly the same.

The only tool needed was a large adjustable wrench. Also, make sure you have a check valve if one wasn’t included (mine didn’t) in your setup. Stainless or brass is best. Plastic will work for awhile, but CO2 will degrade it after awhile. You will also save yourself a lot of work and expense later if you start with CO2 grade tubing. Run-of-the-mill airline tubing will work, but will also degrade over the months and will need to be replaced often.

So here goes!