How to start tank with Amazonia? / nano cube resetup

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Puckhog429

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So I ended up getting enough Amazonia for the 4 gallon cube. I have about 3/4 inch of power sand and a bit more than 2 inches of Amazonia. Once I figure out the hardscape and plants how do I go about flooding? I heard nitrates leach from it for a while? How long til fish can go in? Would it be ok to not run a filter until the nitrates leach out? This is my first time using Ada in fact any other kind of substrate besides dirt so some help would be great. I plan on keeping rcs and a betta. Right now I have 5-6 rcs in another tank with the filter heater and light from the 4 gal. If I have to wait for nitrates to leach out should I be running a filter? I think that lots of wcs would be sufficient until the parameters are balanced out. Does this sound good? For the scape I wanted to keep it pretty simple. One really big black river stone ( hehe ;) ) with a bunch of smaller ones and pieces of branch dw tied together positioned over everything.

Lighting: Finnex Fujeray r clip on
filter: azoo palm
ferts: excel and leaf zone until i get pps pro

For plants I was thinking a narrow leaf chain sword carpet with baby tears and ludwigia cuba background and maybe some fissidens tied to the dw
thanks for the help
puck

ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1406944348.204853.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1406944361.222795.jpg
The tanks 10 by 10 by 10. The black stone in front is the kind I want to use in the scape but im probs gonna have trouble finding more of it.

Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice

Hi Puckhog,