Invaded by Algae

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

cheshireccat

Aquarium Advice Newbie
I am new to a planted tank and on all my plants seems to be growing this algae. Before you flame this post, I should say that I have researched all the different types of algae that share this description, but I can never find any good pictures of them as I am a very visual person. I am adding links to two pictures of my algae, one is very clear with fish in the foreground, the other blurry, digital cameras with autofocus, what can you do...
Anyway, I am looking to get rid of this algae as it is spreading, and I can't seem to get rid of it. I have lowered the light from 11 hours a day to 8.5 hours a day and I have fed the fish less, I change 30-40% of the water weekly, but 25% before the algae. The fish get enough food that they eat it all in 2 minutes or so.

HELP ME GET RID OF THIS STRINGY MENACE!!

I have read of descriptions of many different kinds of algae that resemble this, thread, hair, beard, a bunch of latin names of the species, can someone identify this and offer solutions, preferably fish that will eat it, I don't want to use any chemicals. But I only have 12 fish, the largest ones and 4 zebra fish about 1 1/8 inches long, others are cardinal tetras and guppys with two cleaner fish(no idea what species, salesman only spoke swedish and I don't, but they are spotted and pretty) Ask any questions or email me through here, and I will do my best. I also have two red shrimp that are 1 inch each, and any algae eating shrimp ideas will be considered first, if it doesn't work, I get a baby sized shrimp cocktail...

Just copy and paste the links, sorry for not putting pic or links on here, in a hurry...

Picture 1 of my algae: http://i31.photobucket.com/albums/c355/cheshireccat/DSC02787.jpg

Picture 2 of my algae: