Is CO2 necessary?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Fishingforfish

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm starting to plan out a planted tank since my 10g is on it's end of cycling. Because I'm a beginner, I don't want anything to do with CO2, it's a tad bit too expensive and high maintenance for my taste and knowledge.

So here lies my question: if I had 2-2.5 wpg, would that require CO2? Im planning to buy 2 14w CFL bulbs for my tank (there is 2 fixtures on the hood), though I might just get lower wattage if that requires CO2. I want to start off with low-moderate plants at the most.

Thanks. :)

It depends on the plants, I have three amazon swords, a water wisteria, an Anubias nana, a java fern, anacharis, and two Marimo moss balls, I don't have co2, but I do have liquid ferts and root tabs, that's not too expensive, 20 bucks every three months

It depends on the plants, I have three amazon swords, a water wisteria, an Anubias nana, a java fern, anacharis, and two Marimo moss balls, I don't have co2, but I do have liquid ferts and root tabs, that's not too expensive, 20 bucks every three months

Yeah, I was thinking of using ferts and supplements but just not co2 because of the maintenance and pricing. And I'm new so I don't want to tamper with that stuff until I get the hang of handling live plants.

All of those plants are in my plan as well. :) what kind of plants would you say need co2?

With the amount of light your planning, ferts, and no co2, you could encounter an algae problem. You could consider using liquid carbon, like excel, or API co2 booster. That might help prevent an algae issue.