i've got it bad!--- the great excel disaster

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

WaterPond

Aquarium Advice Addict
BBA, grrr, i've got it really bad. It is covering the leaves of my crypts, swords, wisteria, Lilacina, anubias nana and hygro polysperma. The only thing it is not infecting is my glosso(thank god!), my christmas moss and my java moss.

Well, i know that this is almost the only thing you plant geeks ever hear about so you should have come up with some good ways to treat it. I'm pretty new to plants.

Heres the info you need
ammonia- 0ppm
nitrite- 0ppm
nitrate- 10ppm
pH- 7.0ppm
co2- 30ppm
Tank size: 5gal
Lighting: 24 watt CF and 9w CF
Gravel: nothing special, jusrt everyday stuff.
Dosing: havn't been dosing because i ran out of supplies and have no money to buy more, so yeah. I used to dose with Nutrafin plant gro every week, but i upgraded lighting and added co2 and since then i havn't dosed anything except co2.

I think that is all you need. Please help! lol.

I will post a photo late hopefully.(no guarentees)

For BBA, to stop it's growth you need more CO2, or better circulation of the CO2 you have.

To get rid of it, manually remove as much as possible. You can also use Excel (by seachem). You turn off the filters and powerheads. Take the recomented dosage (and no more than double the recomended dosage(in a 5 gallon you are looking at 1/4 to 1/2 tsp)). Then use an eyedropper to squirt it directly into the BBA. You can do this treatment every 2-3 days. The BBA will tend to turn red, then white and eventually will go away after it is dead.

There will be other recomentations most likely. (ie peroxide, or even bleach (done out of the tank)). None are as safe to flora and fauna as excel.