Live Assorted Aqua Plant Bulbs

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mozcheez

Aquarium Advice Regular
So, I bought a pack of these at Petco last night for about $3.50. I did a quick reviews search from my phone before buying, and the reviews were somewhat favorable, especially for the price. I figured "what the heck". :) They include aponogeton, onion, and waterlily bulbs (supposedly). They also have a germination guarantee or they will replace your bulbs.

Thought I might track their growth success (or failure) here. I found a great suggestion that recommended starting them in a breeder box with an air stone to limit stagnant water until they show growth. So I did just that. Here are some pictures (it was a new stone so I was soaking it before hooking it up - it's actively running now).

I have a 50g freshwater lightly planted (I'm new to live plants) tank. Recently changed out the lighting by purchasing a dual T5NO fixture with a 6700K bulb and a color max bulb. I dose bi-weekly with Flourish and use root tabs. Only currently have 2 amazon swords and 2 anubias nana in the tank, and hopefully will be able to plant these bulbs in the near future. I still have a couple of plastic plants in the tank until I can get some growth out of the live ones. My plants for the tank are low-light no CO2. Fishes are as follows: 8 cory cats, 10 cardinal tetras, 6 pearl danios, 2 indian glassfish, and I have 2 molly fry, 1 guppy fry, and a platy fry in a net breeder (I seem to be a dumping ground for friends' surviving fry :lol:).

Attachments

• photo2.jpg
    photo2.jpg
    247.3 KB · Views: 405
  • photo1.jpg
    photo1.jpg
    250.6 KB · Views: 262
Last edited: