Metal strip around plants?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Gubernaculum86

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm new to planted aquariums and just bought my first plants at Petsmart. All my "mom and pop" lfs are SW oriented. When I got my plants home I noticed they were held together with a pliable strip of metal. It's very flexible and nonferrous.

The only thing I could think of is that it's lead. But I couldn't imagine that they would sell something wrapped in lead with all the problems associated with it.

Any thoughts on what it could be?

its petsmart,they sell bettas for 1 gallon bowls,theres a very good chance its lead.if you want to check,scratch it.lead scratches very easy,and is silvery on the inside.its only aftewr being exposed to air that it gets grey.

It very well may be lead. Most plants sold locally here have lead to help hold the plants down, and also keep them together. Lead is not a problem in aquariums.

http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/f12/lead-weights-32461.html

They are usually made out of a zinc-tin alloy, which is harmless.

if it is a zinc-tin alloy it will be more whitish/silvery. a lead weight will be more greyish. Also if it has a high lead content when rubbed on paper it will make a mark similar to a pencil. Hard to say for certain though unless you have a spectrometer on hand, can also test using nitric acid.

Off the top of my head, i don't know if lead weights in the aquarium are bad for your fish. However, lead poisoning, like most heavy metal poisonings, is a slow killer, many times causing brain and liver damage but not death.

Lead ammunition is not allowed when used over water and lead fishing weights are being phased out in many states