Minerals for plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

anteatergoanna

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi all, I have a few low light plants in my tank, I'm just wondering what could I put in there for minerals? I don't think they are getting enough from my tap water, I dose with flourish, and put in a root tab very so often ( not sure how often I should use them). I am waiting for a co2 system that's on order.
Thanks for any suggestions, I am new to a planted tank and would love to plant it heavily, but am having a lot of losses.

A lot of keeping a planted tank is finding the right plants for your light fixture.

For a low light tank the most common plants to keep are:
Cryptocoryne
Anubias
Bolbitis
Java Fern
Java moss

None of those plants should really need any special treatment such as pressurized CO2 or fertilizers minus the Crypts which need root tabs. Most commonly plant loss in low light tanks comes from buying plants that aren't suited to the light in the tank.

If you're going through the trouble of buying pressurized co2 you might want to look at increasing the light level as well :)

Thanks Mebbid, i will look into that, i have a co2 coming, and the lighting is what came with the light T5 i think

Hi all, I have a few low light plants in my tank, I'm just wondering what could I put in there for minerals? I don't think they are getting enough from my tap water, I dose with flourish, and put in a root tab very so often ( not sure how often I should use them). I am waiting for a co2 system that's on order.
Thanks for any suggestions, I am new to a planted tank and would love to plant it heavily, but am having a lot of losses.