Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 07-03-2009, 03:51 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
More Accurate PH test

Hi.

Does anyone have a product which is more accurate at measuring PH?

I currently use Tetra test but it only works in increments of 0.5

Also the color is sometimes hard to tell difference between any two different colors so hard to get exact measure.

The problem is if my PH was 7 my CO2 ppm would be over 25 but if it was 7.5 then my CO2 would be only 13.

I want a more accurate reading so I can optimise my CO2 better.
__________________

__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 06:13 PM   #2
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
You'll probably want to look into a pH pen meter which generally tests in increments of 0.2 and are fairly inexpensive.
__________________

Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2009, 06:52 PM   #3
HN1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
HN1's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ga
Posts: 8,169
The API pH kit will measure to .2 resolution. Is the tetra test a strip? If so, I'd recommend getting the API FW Master kit so that you can test for ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate as well. The strips are often very unreliable.
__________________
Question everything you see on the internet. ~ George Orwell
HN1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-04-2009, 06:09 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
Not it was the laborette kit so included KH, GH. NO3 etc
__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 12:33 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
if you really want to know your co2 invest in a drop checker. its stays in the tank and you can see it at all times.
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 03:23 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
only co2 drop checker i have never changes colour... it only works by telling me the ph and letting use a chart to compare to my KH
__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-12-2009, 09:09 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
what kh water are you using with it?
__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 10:00 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
ricardo48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: UPPER RISSINGTON
Posts: 245
KH is 8 as i cant get hold of any KH 4 water. I tried rain water but that KH was like 0-1 so was always yellow.
__________________
ricardo48 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-13-2009, 09:19 PM   #9
Moderator Emeritus
 
Purrbox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Iowa USA
Posts: 5,860
You'll want to use RO (dKH of 0) and then follow the instructions in this thread to mix water with dKH of 4.
Purrbox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-14-2009, 12:48 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
mgamer20o0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: so cali
Posts: 5,987
there is your problem. use purrbox link or buy some 4kh water
__________________

__________________
mgamer20o0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
API test kits are not accurate when using PRIME InfernoST Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 42 10-07-2009 01:21 PM
which test kit is most accurate pluk1992 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 5 11-22-2005 12:58 PM
is wpg really accurate?? GIMojo Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 6 08-10-2005 08:56 AM
Is A Refractometer Really More Accurate? mr_tee0419 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 10 07-22-2004 04:14 PM
Most econimical yet accurate PH, Nitrate, Nitrite, etc. Test wstauffer Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 8 07-25-2003 06:38 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.