Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-07-2008, 08:09 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular

Send a message via AIM to chipchop
Moving from plastic to planted

I am a newbie and am thrilled that after a long ordeal my tank finally seems to be cycling.

My plan was to start with fake plants and move to planted. Any suggestions on starting? After the difficulty I had getting this cycled, I am going to wait till I know everything is kosher. But I am very interested in learning more about what and how to have a planted tank.

Cheers.

Old 03-07-2008, 08:28 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict

Send a message via AIM to pitt420dude
First, research research research. Use the sticky at the top of this forum for great info and ask alot of questions (started this one already..lol).

If I were you, I would buy a light that would get you at or close to 4 wpg, I've heard to go with Compact Fluorescent Lighting Kits or current or coralife or TEK if you can afford it.

Then get yourself some black seachem flourite as substrate. Around 3" deep or so.

Next you need yourself a 5 or 10 lb pressurized CO2cannister w/ a regulator, solenoid, needle valve and bubble counter. YOu also need a reactor, either a DIY or one you can buy.

After that go buy some ferts, there is a good link somewhere around here.

Then get plants, and plant em! Go with higher light plants since they'll enjoy the light and take off. Get that CO2 up to around 30 ppm and then fight algea for a few months until you get the hang of things.

And then...and only after you've done all of this...probably years, possibly decades and maybe never, you can sit back and relax and enjoy your algea-free beatiful planted tank.

LOOK! A NEW LEAF!!!!!
pitt420dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2008, 08:33 PM   #3