My aquarium's history and a question about lighting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

LazySlacker

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Before I ask my question I'd like to talk about my aquarium for a little while.

I've had this 10 gallon aquarium for about 3 years. I got it when I was a freshman in college. I couldn't have any larger than a 10 gallon aquarium in the dorms, and that's what I got. I'm now in an apartment and I just decided to hang on to this 10 gallon aquarium because it will be easy to move when I leave here in about a year.

It has evolved greatly and I have slowly learned what works, what doesn't, what I like a what I don't like. It started out as a goldfish tank with a couple of goldfish. I didn't know much about filtering, changing the water, or proper feeding, and as a result they died in a few months. Not to be discouraged, I bought a heater and a much better filter and bought some tropical fish. These were much easier to take care of (or maybe my equipment was better) and I've had a tropical FW tank for about 2.5 years. I've only gone through a few fish, most living about a year or so. One fish that had lasted for about 2 years died during a move (into the apartment) by jumping out of the tupperware container I was moving him in and died. It was tragic.

My tank has gone through several different species of plants. Many slowly die over a period of months. I feel that this is mainly due to my poor lighting. I got my tank and hood at Wal-Mart, so while the tank has stood up very well over the years, the light has always been rather dim, and much more so lately now that I have finally found a plant that seems to thrive in my aquarium.