My DIY CO2 System

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Smitty

Aquarium Advice Addict
Ok, I'm new with this whole CO2 thing and thought I'd post some pictures in case someone has some advice... of course anything to fix would need to be cheap or free :)

Sorry about the flashes... I stink at taken pictures.

And new full-tank shots:

Thanks for looking!

I see 3 bottles is one of those a gas separator? If so good job if not, get one. the other question is the co2 feeding directly into the reaction chamber or is it passing through the powerhead first? last suggestion you have a very long tank looks like a 55 gallon? If you have a second power head it may help (depending on your flow) to place a power head near the bottom of the tank pointing towards the other side just to help circulate your co2 saturated water around the tank.. Look great trhoug

I have 2 2L bottles with a 3 way connect going into a smaller 3rd that is empty and that goes into the spray end of the powerhead. The CO2 is then pushed into the diffuser type thing.

I am worried as to how it will work when that diffuser is full of CO2 because it is steadily filling up. I did it the same way others did, that I saw on you-tube... guess I'll have to wait and see.

I can add a 2nd powerhead if needed but this is also right next to the output of my XP2 and there is a lot of water moving around there. The intake is on the other side of the tank and I was hoping it would move over there with the normal flow. I can tell the plants are enjoying it as I've seen a lot of growth in the last 2 weeks of starting the CO2.

you may have too much media at the bottom of your diffuser try reducing the amount of batting you have stuffed in there. you want to be able to feel the flow comming out of the bottom from your powerhead.