Needle Valve - Replacement already?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

tim_s

Aquarium Advice Regular
For the first almost month the needle valve has been pretty consistent but I am finding between the morning and night the needle valve is changing the Co2 flow I.e. it is reducing flow.

I have tried taping it but even with the flex of the tape - a slight adjustment is occurring.

Time already for a needle valve replacement?

I have the needle valve from the red sea co2 pro kit

Unfortunately the needlevalve on that kit is somewhat notorious for not being very good. Good needlevalves are not cheap, unfortunately.

Is the tape working out for you?

I've been using the Red Sea pro kit continuously since early 2008 and every part is working like new including the needle valve. You should contact Red Sea about it. It's under warrantee and if it's already wonky it has to be a defect. Actually, I did have to change the hoses a couple of weeks ago but 4 1/2 years for hoses is pretty good.

I agree - Red Sea is a pretty good company. I think they will work with you on it.

Unfortunately the needlevalve on that kit is somewhat notorious for not being very good. Good needlevalves are not cheap, unfortunately.

Is the tape working out for you?

The tape appears to be working - I just need a temp solution.

I actually bought the Red Sea kit based on recommendations from my friends who said they have all switched from the Milwaukee brand. For this exact reason, the fluctuation will be minimal but the situation is not ideal.

I am very happy to invest in a superior needle valve if need be.

The needle valve on the Milwaukee isn't great either unfortunately. But we are always looking to balance cost with quality. Both regulator setups are fairly decent and economical.