New 25g planted tank. Need some advice.

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Alkane

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hey,

I am setting up a planted tank it is going through the cycle now. I have had some low light planted tanks in the past and currently have a 2.5g in the windowsill that gets natural sun, but besides that I am a plant newb.

I am shooting for a mid-light range. I have a t5HOx4 from an old reef tank. The bulbs are 12k and actinics. I have ordered two 6500k 24w to replace the 12k's. I was going to leave the actinics in just to make to make the fish color stand out. Not sure if this will cause any problems or if I should use 3x6500? The 25 gallon is pretty tall. What would you recommend?>

I will have to go lid-less due to the light fixture which I assume is not a problem.

I am using sand for substrate and will probably have to add flourish tablets? And add liquid fertilizer?

I would prefer to avoid CO2 if possible. If I have to have it I will set up a DIY system.

I've done some reading, but each setup is a little bit different. I'm looking for any advice that may help me get everything balanced. I want my plants to be as healthy as possible without running into an algae explosion. Balancing everything out will be a task, so I decided to ask before just using trial and error.

Thanks, :lol:

Alk

I assume this is the 25g that you're talking about?

In a tank that size, if you're not prepared to do CO2, don't go with T5HOs. You will have some serious light to contend with if you have all four bulbs on. Even with only two, you will still be well into high light. DIY CO2 will probably cover it, but there is still a real possibility of growing a whole mess of algae.