New 55gal planted!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishfool58

Aquarium Advice FINatic
Hey everyone, I had received a free 10 gal tank, decided to make it a planted aquarium, & it turned out so well that my family has decided to get me the stuff for a 55gal tank in the living room! They want it planted & a community tank. Since I am still very new to planted tanks, I was curious if you guys could recommend some good fast growing plants. I will be getting some good pieces of driftwood, & rocks.. Also I'd like to know what fish you guys think would suit it, my brother & mom like angelfish, I like some of the rams.. But either works.. I'm not sure what could go with them, or if they could even go together.. As my main tank is a African Cichlid tank. (& Livebearers years ago)
Thanks so much for your responses!

Cabomba and ludwigia grows fast. Angels and rams work together. A nice school of tetras can also.

boadams87 said:
Cabomba and ludwigia grows fast. Angels and rams work together. A nice school of tetras can also.

How many of each? & like cardinal tetras? What about some sort of loach?

You should do a school of at least 6. You can also do Rummy nose tetra's. For another tetra school with a different body shape Diamond and Lemon Tetra's are good for Angel tanks. Pictures of Diamond tetras do not do them justice. In stores they are washed out. When in a tank and settled they have irridescant colored scales that glitter like diamonds under the light, very pretty. I have a school of 13 and the older they get the better their coloring gets. Loaches, you could do something like 3 yo-yo loaches, or a school of Kuhli loaches. Stay away from clown loaches as they get very big. Cory cats for the bottom is also good. For upper level/surface swimmers you can do something like Hatchet fish or Threadfin Rainbow fish.