Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-19-2015, 07:39 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
New co2 system

I recently bought a fully automatic co2 system. I am waiting for it to arrive. I was wondering if I have to remove the air bubbler I have in tank for oxygen. I was also wondering if I can hook the water return into my existing power head on the fresh air feed spot on the outlet side, or do I have to just let it hook over the top of tank as it shows in the picture of product I bought. The system I bought is the fully automatic system from Drs Foster Smith. I thank you for any info you can give me. My tank is a 55 gallon show tank, freshwater. It has some live plants, driftwood, rock caves. Tetras, danios, Cory cats, 4 neon blue Gobys, 1 rainbow.
__________________

__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 10:17 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
You should turn off the bubbler during the day as it will drive off the CO2 that is being injected. You can run it at night if you want. It might not be necessary at all; depends on what filters/pumps are being used in the tank.
You could connect the outlet of the system to the Venturi inlet of a power head, but why would you? To increase CO2 distribution? Placing the outlet of the system near the power head or filter output should be sufficient for CO2 distribution.
Just curious, what light fixture is on this tank and what fertilizers are being used?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 11:04 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Filter and substrate

I am using a substrate that is for live plants. It said it fertilizes live plants. I don't remember the brand. It is black. The fern and Anubis are doing good with liquid additive for plants but I think they will do better with co2. Filter is a penguin bio wheel. Thank you for info on co2 return line. I wasn't sure about it since its new to me.
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2015, 11:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Filter and substrate

I am using a substrate that is for live plants. It said it fertilizes live plants. I don't remember the brand. It is black. The fern and Anubis are doing good with liquid additive for plants but I think they will do better with co2. Filter is a penguin bio wheel. Thank you for info on return line for co2. I wasn't sure since its new to me. I use the ZOO MED LED light with a live plant light in it.
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 04:17 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
The Zoo Med LEDs should be fine for the plants you've mentioned which, btw, are not very demanding light or CO2 wise. The plants will not necessarily utilize the substrate nutrients as they are typically mounted onto driftwood or stones above the substrate.
That CO2 system has you ahead of the curve in case you decide to upgrade the lighting and fertilizer regimen.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-20-2015, 11:41 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Size of co2tank

What size of co2tank should I get for this system? I know that I have to go to local welding shop for it.
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 01:42 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
5 lb tanks are commonly used.
I opted to use a 24 oz paint ball tank for my setup. It is pretty economical at ~$4 per refill (every 4 months). Paintball tanks require a paintball adaptor in order to be connected to a standard regulator.
The CO2 system you are getting may be overkill for your current setup. Not saying that there is anything wrong with it; You are set if you opt to go high light in the future. I believe the lights you have are low light at best (I could be wrong).


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 10:14 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hunter73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: North Texas
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bus Driver View Post
What size of co2tank should I get for this system? I know that I have to go to local welding shop for it.
So many people use different sizes. I use a 10 lb. tank, and I have another 10 lb. tank I keep filled as my back up so I don't have to rush and get the empty one filled.
__________________
Hunter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 12:01 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
More plants

I plan to add more plants in the near future, that is why I am adding the co2 system. Thank you both for advice on co2 bottles. If I choose to go with paintball tanks, where do I get adapter?
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 03:29 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Laeris's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Colorado
Posts: 957
Amazon has them, pretty sure you can find them on eBay as well.
__________________
Laeris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 05:42 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Regardless of the tank size, it's a good idea to pickup a pack of spare o-rings. Without them it is leak city.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:37 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Co2 tanks

How long does the co2 last? I found 12gram and 90gram paintball cartridges at Walmart will those work or should I look for bigger ones? I found 10lb cylinder at local welding shop, boy is it expensive to buy and 30 dollars to refill. If I buy this tank about how long will it last?
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:47 PM   #13
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Co2 cylinders

I found 12gram and 90gram cylinders at Walmart, I was wondering if they would work and how long they would last? I also found a 10pound cylinder at local welding shop, it's over $150 to buy and then $30 dollars to refill. Plus reinspection every so many years. If I go with 10 pound cylinder how long will it last? I'm just trying to figure best way to go.
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-21-2015, 11:51 PM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
I would not do the cartridges because the replacement cost will start to add up. The only exception would be a nano tank where it would challenging to hide a larger setup.
I run about 2-3 bps for 8 hours a day with a 24 oz paintball tank and I am filling it up every 4-4.5 months. This is on a 20 g medium lit planted aquarium. About $4-5 per refill at a local sports store (Dick's Sporting Goods). Annual cost under $15.
A 5 lb tank is 80 oz, so at the rate above, it should last over a year. This might be on the higher end of typical duration.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 09:33 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
unstopaBULLFish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 839
Don't want to hijack this thread, but is there a calculator for amount of time the co2 lasts in a pressurized system? I plan to run a pressurized system at 2-3 BPS for about 7 hours for a ten gallon high tech


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
unstopaBULLFish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 11:57 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Co2 bottles

I found a place that will order a 5lb or a 10lb bottle in for me. The price is very good. Refill is only $10. I thank you for all the help. With a 55 gallon show tank, what rate do you think would be good to set it at?
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 12:53 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
New co2 system

I wound start out 1-2 bps and then monitor the drop checker (stays green).

Edit: I just remembered that this is an automatic system that uses a pH probe and controller. I have no experience with that. I suppose the first thing you want to do is get a baseline of the pH and then set the pH target to something slightly lower than that. I would read the user manual for this.

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 01:40 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 9
Bottle size

What size bottle would be better to use? 5 or 10 pound. Or does it really matter with the only difference I see is the amount of time it will last.
__________________
Bus Driver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2015, 02:29 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 12,863
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bus Driver View Post
What size bottle would be better to use? 5 or 10 pound. Or does it really matter with the only difference I see is the amount of time it will last.

I don't think it matters unless there is a size constraint in the event you are housing this on a cabinet.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2015, 10:35 AM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Hunter73's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: North Texas
Posts: 419
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bus Driver View Post
What size bottle would be better to use? 5 or 10 pound. Or does it really matter with the only difference I see is the amount of time it will last.

My personal opinion is to buy the largest you can afford. That way refills are further out. While keeping my tanks top notch, I try to also keep things convenient for me as well.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
Hunter73 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ac130 Elite over a glass Co2 diffuser when attached to a DIY Co2 system? Jmenehan2 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 0 02-23-2013 02:33 PM
How did I do on my new Pressurized CO2 system? CGGorman Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 01-13-2006 10:31 AM
New CO2 system... adamatic Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 9 07-03-2005 09:19 PM
New Co2 System Questions john98521 Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 1 03-23-2004 01:17 PM
Eco-System 40 HOT System riptide Saltwater Reef Aquaria 0 11-23-2003 12:12 AM







» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.