new kid need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sjbdvm

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi I'm new to the forum so thanks in advance for any advice. I have been on/off keeping freshwater tanks for ~ 10 years but my last one was a super fail because of my laziness so I gave it away and the new owner saved all the fish and plants and has it looking awesome. Prior to that I had several small tanks running at one time and they did fairly well but were all low light, low tech and never too heavily planted (because I was a broke college student).

Anyway, I have a little more funds and a little more time and decided to try again and hopefully have better success and stay committed. The long term plan is a big (for me) 55-70 gal tank (not purchased yet so not sure of size but somewhere in that range) heavily planted south american community tank in our soon to be new family room. I'm still planning and thinking about that one and also the room isn't finished so I can't get it going yet. In the meantime I decided to practice and try some stuff out on a small tank in our living room.

My question is whether or not I need to fertilize. I have been reading a lot and don't seem to have a clear understanding of whether this is necessary given my other parameters, obviously I want to avoid algae but would like to have fairly speedy plant growth (if possible without adding too much equipment) so I can use a lot of these plants/trimmings to supplement what I buy for my future big tank.