New Project: Rainforest Planted Tank

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CMOS

Aquarium Advice Regular
Howdy All,

I'm converting my freshwater fish tank into a semi-aquatic Rain Forest tank that will have partial "land" and a "lagoon" with aquatic plants.

This is a custom 45 gallon tank, 36 x 12 x 24H with about a 12 gallon sump inside the stand. I'll attach some pics of the project start.

I plan to make my own lighting fixture with 2 x 30W high intensity LED fixtures. Note the spray bar in the back left corner. This is going to feed a rock & driftwood waterfall. I'm not a newbie to tanks, but I sure am when it comes to live plants. I'll need help with this.

I hope to have some semi-aquatic and some aquatic plants in the lagoon itself. I will be putting in a a couple of Dart Frogs and maybe a coupe small South American Chameleons, then a few very small temperate tetras - White Clouds possibly.

The far right side of the tank is the input to the sump. I'll be covering that section with a piece of Poret Foam, then cover with river pebbles, driftwood, and some live plants. The sump already had a well established bacterial colony form when I had fish in there just a few days ago, so no cycling needed.

One of the things I really need help with is to understand how to get the plants the proper nutrition.

What test kits do I need?
What nutritional supplements are recommended, and at what intervals?

Looking forward to this, as is my 9-year old daughter. :D

CMOS

Attachments

• TankBare.jpg
    TankBare.jpg
    227.2 KB · Views: 81
  • LEDFixture.jpg
    LEDFixture.jpg
    217.9 KB · Views: 93
All,

What kind of test kits do you recommend I get to properly care for the semi-aquatic and aquatic plants?

I'll be adding quite a few rock piles, and various drift-woods this weekend. Hope to get the new LED light fixture done also.