new to planted tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

a7xdex

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
I've been caring for fish for 10 years now and have had many different species. I just recently got into live plants. I would like to know the ins and out of caring for live plants and some suggestions for backgroung midground and foreground plants. And recommended DIY co2 kits. I have the hagen setup which I know is to small for my tank but I only have a few plants. I have 2.5 Watts per gallen flouresent lighting on a 10 hour timer. I would also like some recommendations for fertilizers. Any input will be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to AA.

With your current lighting, I'd skip the CO2 and look at lowlight plants such as crypts (wide variety of colors and sizes), vals, java fern and java moss are great starter plants.

You can probably skip fertz for awhile with lowlight varieties. If you want to upgrade later, dry fertz are much less expensive than bottled types. The type and amount you'd need would depend on the type of plants you have.

Good luck!

Http://www.plantgeek.net has a great guide that you can sort by placement and lighting requirements.

I would say you can grow low and medium light plants.

For co2 are you measuring the levels you are achieving with your hagan kit? Even though you only have a few plants, if you aren't maintaining 20+ ppm co2 it can be worse for algae than just not running co2 at all. You could easily build a second generator and hook it up to your system for a couple bucks.

For Ferts, you probably won't need much. Are you testing your nitrates? What level are they at? I would recommend just starting with a trace mix like flourish comprehensive, or a k/trace combo like API leafzone.