New to Planted tanks, Lighting Questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Andy91

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hey Everyone,

This is my first tank and I've recently started buying little easy growing plants and right now in the process of making a DIY CO2 system. Hope everything goes well with that project lol. My tank is a 20gal starter kit so it came with the lighting and hood. (the hood messured ~22"? the blub is ~17") It only has one blub... now from what I have read people use two blubs... Such as two T5s. So im alittle confused. I understand the wattage pergallons so im wondering how this works lol.
Now my Questions are... (yes im new to all of this and just looking for help and advice :))

Can I replace the blubs with new blubs that can fit with enough watts for plants, or do I need to buy a new setup for the hood?

Is there anyway I can change the unit under the stock hood and put in new lights?

I am a full time student so, budget is tight but I am willing to hear all options. So everyone that can help share your ideas and don't worry about the money, but cheap is better :brows:.

Thanks!
:thanks:

Alright got the DIY Co2 system working, and it works great! See if it helps the plants now... :whistle:

Anyone? Im thinking that I have to buy a whole new unit for the lighting...

I know these are noob questions.

Thanks!

Since your hood came with stock bulbs, look into CFL bulbs that match the wattage of your hood. Your looking for CFL's that have a color temp of 6500K which is about the color temp of sunlight. Stock bulbs are really only suitable for looking at the fish, not really for growing plants, although some low light / low maintenance plants may do ok.

The other option is to buy a new fixture which will be a bit $$$$$$