New to plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Derek015

Aquarium Advice Activist
I have a 55 gal tank and i want it to be heavily planted, but i currently am waiting for a job to buy some lights. What brand lights would you guys reccomend, and what type? What plants would be good?

I am planning to have a very tropical in my 55 gal, with such fish like, glass catfish, maybe(not for sure) a knife fish, LOTS OF TETRAS!!(gotta love those little guys), a few mollies, some rainbow fish, and maybe only maybe(if i dont want to go with the mollies and catfish and knife fish) some Discus to go along with the tetras.

I know discus are very sensitive and cost up to $50 for a 2 1/2 inch fish. I have to do a PWC every week or less of 10% and make sure they dont get their growth stunted. ect. I studied up on discus and love their colors(especially the red).

Would you guys recommend discus in a heavily planted tank? would they eat the plants? and if they would, Can it get stuck in the digestive tract?
that happend to my friend his discus ate some floating plants and died cause it couldnt pass foods.

Hopefully i gave you sufficient information on what i would like to do.

p.s. the tetras would be cardinals cause i know they can take the 86*F temp

I wanted (want) discus too. If you have discus, they need lots of swimming space, and there is a certian number of discus that you should have.

They also secrete slime, and some people dislike having to clean the glass often. You would have to get bigger tetra's as well. I've heard cardinals get along with discus, which suprised me.

Water changes would be more like 30% every week. Discus are the Diva's of tropical fish. They also like really warm water. 82-84*f. Make sure the other fish are fine with this.