New to the plant game C02

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

jmicus123

Aquarium Advice Newbie
So im pretty new to the plant game but im looking to play around with it. Ive been spending some time doing some research on DIY c02 systems but feel i would rather just purchase a c02 injection setup.

I used to be a big paint ball buff and have about 8 20 0z c02 tanks lying around, the paint ball place up the street is relatively cheap to fill them so i figured why not put them to good use and purchase this setup

CO2 System 500 - For "Paintball" Cylinders (Red Sea)

CO2 System 500 - For "Paintball" Cylinders (Red Sea)

do i have the right idea here?
does any one have any expirence with red sea products, any horror stories?

and also i know it says "paintball" cylinders but will actuall paint ball cylinders fit. Idiot question, but you never know.

go for it. the only downfall will be frequent refills.
just remember that you're gonna need to think about ferts and light too.

i go to school down at mass maritime academy and life up on the north shore in ipswich. For lighting i have the coralife delux 36" hood with a 96w CF light. I also have my old hood on there but never really turn it on that contains a 45w light as well. Any reccomnedations on fetilizers?

i was looking at ground cover and am intersted in tring java moss or clover. Right now i have 2 amazon sword plants and some sort of onion plant my friend gave to me. I also placed a baffle on surface of the tank and have duck weed covering about a 1/3 of the surface.

Im hoping to have the tank bottom pretty well covered as well as moss grown on some of my drift wood pieces hopefully with some larger plants here and there. any information or plant reccomendations would be greatly appreciated