newb to freshwater and planted tanks

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

scottayy

Aquarium Advice Addict
I am new to freshwater tanks and planted tanks but I have set up lots of saltwater tanks so I know about all of the equipment and cycling and the wonderful world of fishkeeping.

I've bought a standard 10 gallon aquarium with hood, a hang-on-back filter rated for 20 gallons, a koralia 240 nano for flow, a bag of fluorite substrate, some silk plant decorations (for now), some airline, a pump, and an airstone.

I have a few questions:

1) I am going to replace the stock incandescent bulbs with two 13 watt 6500k spiral compact fluorescents. Is this too much light? I can windowscreen the tank if necessary. I don't know if plants can bleach like corals or what not.

2) Is the koralia 240 necessary for a freshwater tank or will it be too much flow (or not enough)?

3) What kind of plants should I start out with? What would be good for a 10 gallon?

4) Stocking. Have no idea about freshwater fish. Can I get a school of small fish? What are some appropriate options? Would really like to have a school if possible. If that's possible, could I get another species for some variety in addition? To me, it sounds like overstocking but I don't know anything about freshwater fish.

Thanks in advance!

I am new to freshwater tanks and planted tanks but I have set up lots of saltwater tanks so I know about all of the equipment and cycling and the wonderful world of fishkeeping.

I've bought a standard 10 gallon aquarium with hood, a hang-on-back filter rated for 20 gallons, a koralia 240 nano for flow, a bag of fluorite substrate, some silk plant decorations (for now), some airline, a pump, and an airstone.

I have a few questions: